Tags

, , , , , ,

Blair-Queen-Dome-580_60625a

I was born in the 20th century, the year 1995 to be exact, I don’t really remember the 90s except the last few months of 1999. However, for some reason I feel a strange fondness for the 90s. Everything about the decade I was born in just fascinates me, so much that I actually want to be there and would want to stay there. I do remember the very early 2000s vividly, 2000, 2001, 2002 they were great years. So young, such innocence and they were less complicated times. Young kids would recoil in horror if they spent just ONE day in the year 2000. They honestly wouldn’t have a clue how people survived without having a phone glued to their hand, although possible, as phones were around back then. They’d have surely got bored with playing snake, honestly they wouldn’t have a clue. I don’t really know what this post is about, its a mixture of sadness that I am no longer living in those times and also disbelief at how drastically things have changed, in 14 short years. It is unreal. If I’m honest, everything in the year 2014 annoys me and I constantly refer to what it would be like in the year 2000 or at least the late 1990s-early 2000s. I suppose this post is an observation of current 21st century life.

Computers, I remember them, they have a tower, a screen with a large backend, no widescreen or even broadband. We had dial-up connection, it went off every hour and if someone rang you on the landline it went off too. Landline! Remember them? House phones don’t even exist anymore do they? I’m not for one moment suggesting that these computers were better than the ones today but things were so much simpler back in those days. You didn’t have online banking, Facebook, Twitter, television online and all the other things we take for granted these days. I hate the over-reliance on technology because I grew up when this technology was still in its infancy. The progression has been so quick. I hate the fact that you have to tweet people to get in touch with them, why can’t they just pick up the phone? Or even text! I hate how you can shop online, why can’t you just go to the supermarket? In 50 years time people won’t even have to leave the house, for me that’s scary. I am not necessarily a technophobe, I am a very able user of computers, mobile phones, televisions and all the rest of it but I just miss how simple life used to be. I also miss the old gadgets such as tapes and videos, I grew up with those (I could use a video recorder by the time is was 4!). Show an 8 year old a video and they won’t have a clue, believe me!

Even the television in those days was better, I am a big fan of comedy and light entertainment and I look at what we have today. Ant and Dec, Paddy McGuinness, Jack Whitehall, Sarah Millican and god knows who else. They repulse me, I can’t stand them, I prefer Michael Barrymore, Jim Davidson, Frank Skinner who were all top stars at the turn of the century. Its my type of comedy but again I’m probably sympathetic towards it because I grew up with it. Television as a whole was much better, the soaps were believable, music was represented properly with TOTP, CD:UK and even the kids programs weren’t patronizing. Where did everything go wrong? I’d love to know.

The music was also enjoyable, notice how I didn’t say good? That’s because it wasn’t! S Club 7, 5ive, Vengaboys, the list is endless. It was a joy to listen (and dance…) to such music though and much better than the stuff that pollutes the airwaves these days. I still feel good when I hear tunes from my childhood, I feel sorry for the kids of today having to listen to such crap that is now in the charts, its all so sexual and offensive, sometimes both.

Those times were, dare I say it, safer. Although the UK had been in conflict in the late 1990s and early 2000s in Kosovo and Sierra Leone there was no wars to compete with the Afghan and Iraq wars of 2001 and 2003 respectively. There was no threat from terrorists, seen in 2005 with 7/7 and the failed bomb plot a week later, and kids could play out a lot more than they can now. I can’t put my finger on it but something seems to have happened since 2000 where people aren’t as safe as they used to be. There has always been murderers, rapists, paedophiles and criminals so I don’t know.

However, there has been good changes such as; casual homophobia and racism is slowly fading and no longer being accepted. That is a fantastic change for society and one thing which makes me cringe about the “old days”. Technology has developed and aided many businesses and people and it is much easier to get in touch with people now. It is also easier to access things when online.

However, I like the old days the best, life was so much simpler and I’ll end this by saying 21st century life? No thanks!